Mail|Tenders | Contact us
Department of Anatomy

anatomyThe Department of Anatomy came into existence in 1962, as one of the first departments of the Undergraduate wing of the Armed Forces Medical College. It is housed in a beautiful heritage building just besides the Deans Office. It occupies in excess of 25,000 sq.ft. and has a part of first floor of the Deans Office also.


The first Head of the Dept Lt Col NS Rao, FRCS started the dept and laid an excellent academic foundation by his untiring efforts. He headed the dept for the first nine years and was succeeded by Lt Col TD Sinha, FRCS. Dr VR Mysorekar took over the Dept in 1973. He was an excellent teacher and world renowned anatomist. He was awarded the BC Roy Award for Eminent Medical Teacher in 1984. He methodically built the Embryology section of the Anatomy museum. He published many scientific papers and contributed many chapters in various textbooks. Dr GR Purohit was the head from 1987 till 1991, during his tenure the college celebrated the golden jubilee. Lt Col PK Verma was head of dept from 1991 to 1993. Dr RK Zargar headed the dept from 1993 to 2005.Col BK Mishra was head from 2006 to 2009. During his tenure the dept was renovated and modern teaching aids were incorporated. Col R Bhatnagar was the HOD from Aug 2009 to Nov 2014.Col Sushil Kumar was the HOD from Dec 2014 to Jan 2020 and during this period the Dissection Hall was upgraded. Col K Mohanlal headed the dept from Jan 2020 to Jan 2021. Presently the dept is being headed by Col Aseem Tandon. He has taken keen interest in upgrading the e-learning facilities and augmenting the research activities in the Dept.




This department aims to impart a comprehensive concept of Anatomy so as to provide an understanding of the anatomical basis and clinical correlation of disease presentation and management.





   CLICK HERE(English)        CLICK HERE(Hindi)         CLICK HERE(Marathi)