Editorial Board


The Medical Journal Armed Forces India is an official publication of the Armed Forces Medical Services.

The Editorial Board chaired by the Director & Commandant, Armed Forces Medical College, Pune manages the journal. The current members of the editorial board are as under :


Chairperson Editorial Board


Lt Gen Nardeep Naithani

Director & Commandant
Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, India


Deputy Chairperson Editorial Board


Maj Gen RM Gupta, VSM

Dean & Deputy Commandant
Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, India





Artificial Limb Centre, Pune, India


Editor in Chief


Col Rakesh Datta

Professor, Department of ENT
Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, India


Executive Editor


Lt Col AW Kashif

Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, India


Technical Editor


Lt Col Sarala M

Assistant Professor, Department of Forensic Medicine & Toxicology
Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, India


International Editorial Advisory Board


Dr Dinesh Kumar Bhugra, MRCP, FRCP, PhD

Professor of Mental Health & Cultural Diversity, PO25, Health Services and Population Research Department,
Institute of Psychiatry, De Crespigny Park, London SE5 8AF

Dr Namasivayam Ambalavanan

Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Neonatology,
University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), USA

Dr Donald Pathman, MD MPH

Professor & Research Director, Department of Family Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Dr G Gopal Rao, OBE

HOD & Consultant Microbiologist/Lead Clinician, Infection Control,
North West London Hospitals NHS Trust,Watford Road, Harrow, Middlesex, HA1 3UJ

Dr Ruby Pawankar

Dept of Paediatrics,
Nippon Medical School, Tokyo, Japan

Dr Subhas Banerjee

Director of Endoscopy, Associate Professor of Medicine,
Stanford University School of Medicine, California, USA

Dr Pradeep Kumar

Consultant Surgery & Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer,
University hospitals of Derby & Burton NHS Trust, UK


National Editorial Advisory Board


Dr Ajay S Chandanwale

Joint Director, Directorate of Medical Education and Research (DMER)

Dr Alka Kriplani

Ex-Prof & Head, Dept of Obst & Gynae, AIIMS
New Delhi

Dr Alok Srivastava

Professor & Head, Centre for Stem Cell Research
CMC, Vellore

Dr Balram Bhargava

Director General, Indian Council of Medical Reasearch
New Delhi, India

Dr D M Thappa

Director, NEIGRIHMS, Mawdiangdiang
Shillong, Meghalaya

Dr Jagat Ram

Director, PGIMER

Lt Gen MD Venkatesh, VSM (Retd)

Vice Chancellor, Sikkim Manipal University
East Sikkim

Dr Neelam Marwaha

Professor & Head, Dept of Transfusion Medicine

AVM Rajvir Bhalwar (Retd)

Dean, Rural Medical College, Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences
Loni, Ahmednagar

Dr Raju Sharma

Professor, Dept of Radiology, AIIMS
New Delhi

Dr Randeep Guleria

Director, AIIMS
New Delhi

Dr Shashi Bala Singh

NIPER, Hyderabad

Dr SK Agarwal

Professor & Head, Dept of Nephrology
AIIMS,New Delhi

Dr Soniya Nityanand

Professor & Head, Dept of Clinical Immunology

Dr Subash Chandra Parija

Director, JIPMER
Dhanvantri Nagar, Gorimedu,Puducherry

Dr V Sitaram

Professor & Head, Dept of Hepato Pancreato Biliary Surgery
CMC, Vellore

Dr Yash Lokhandwala

Cardiac Electrophysiologist, Arrhythmia Associates


Armed Forces Editorial Advisory Board


Maj Gen AS Sandhu

Sr Conslt (Surgery)

Maj Gen R Ramasethu

Sr Conslt (Med)

Brig SK Bhandari

Prof & HoD, Dept of Dental Surgery


Prof & HoD, Dept of Hospital Administration

Brig AK Srivastava

Prof & HoD, Dept of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Brig Poninder Kumar

Prof & HoD, Dept of Ophthalmology

Air Cmde Renuka Kunte

Prof & HoD, Dept of Community Medicine

Brig R Setlur

Prof & HoD, Dept of Anaesthesia

Brig Ravi Rautji

Prof & HoD, Dept of Forensic Medicine

Brig PP Rao

Prof & HoD, Dept of Surgery

Air Cmde Shankar Subramanian

Prof & HoD, Dept of Medicine

Brig Kaushik Chatterjee

Prof & HoD, Dept of Psychiatry

Brig Amit Devgan

Prof & HoD, Dept of Pediatrics

Surg Cmde D Raghavan

Prof & HoD, Dept of Otorhinolaryngology

Brig Ajay Deep Sud

Prof & HoD, Dept of Orthopaedics

Brig Sourav Sen

Prof & HoD, Dept of Microbiology

Col Radhakrishnan S

Prof & HoD, Dept of Dermatology

Col Mohanlal K

Prof & HoD, Dept of Anatomy

Gp Capt Vivek Vasdev

Prof & HoD, Dept of Geriatric Medicine

Col Sharmila Sinha

Prof & HoD, Dept of Pharmacology

Gp Capt Samaresh Sahu

Prof & HoD, Dept of Radiology

Surg Capt Gaurav Sikri

Prof & HoD, Dept of Physiology

Col Pratibha Mishra

Prof & HoD, Dept of Biochemistry

Col Deep Sharma

Prof & HoD, Dept of Sports Medicine